LOST! – Coldplay’s Most Underrated Song

When in high school it rarely feels like the best time of your life. For some it passes pretty uneventfully, while for a vast majority of us it’s quite possibly a bit of an emotional roller coaster ride.

Coldplay’s frontman, Chris Martin was quoted in The Sun, on May 13, 2008: ‘The line in this song “Just because I'm losing doesn't mean I'm lost” is what the whole record came out of because we were feeling down at the end of the last tour. That line arrived and it was, “OK, that's how we kinda feel. We know we can improve.”’

Coldplay’s frontman, Chris Martin was quoted in The Sun, on May 13, 2008: ‘The line in this song “Just because I’m losing doesn’t mean I’m lost” is what the whole record came out of because we were feeling down at the end of the last tour. That line arrived and it was, “OK, that’s how we kinda feel. We know we can improve.”’

Photo Courtesy

Fortunately or, rather unfortunately, mine was pretty much uneventful until my last year. Now, unlike day schools where you get to go back home, lie in bed and, shut out everything going on beyond your bedroom doors. I didn’t have that. I had a roommate and a very tight schedule to follow. I was living with the very people who I had to see every day at school, at the shooting range, during meals. I was in my own personal version of hell. I know, I’m being a bit dramatic, calling boarding school ‘hell’. I see it now, but for a lot of us our teenage years felt pretty damn close.

IMG_0710

Photo Courtesy

Moving on, my point is that we all tend to find solace in something. Like many, I found mine in music. The one song that’s played a big role in getting me through that year and almost every time since then when I felt ‘Lost.’ I never will understand why it never made it into the UK Top 40s list. It was the first ever release by Coldplay to miss it. I have yet to come across a ‘Top 10 songs by Coldplay’ list where ‘Lost!’ is listed. It has to be their most underrated song to date. Why wasn’t it ever good enough?

large (1)Photo Courtesy

“You might be a big fish. In a little pond, Doesn’t mean you’ve won, Cause along may come, A bigger one…”

– Featured Image Courtesy

6 comments

  1. aditikrish · March 7, 2015

    Mine was always Fix you! From the year it came out till today, anytime I fell down or low I listen to Fix you and it just makes me feel better. No song has ever come close to healing me like that onw!

    Liked by 1 person

    • loudpublicist · March 7, 2015

      Of course, it’s a great song. But I guess, the reason why this song caught on with me was that is was a little upbeat & at the time exactly what I needed to hear.

      Like

      • aditikrish · March 11, 2015

        Yeah I guess it’s all about what you needed at that moment.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Manu · March 9, 2015

    I believe that’s the thing about Coldplay, they make it possible for music to be consoling easily. I don’t know if it’s just me but I’ve always felt that Coldplay songs could easily be published as poems. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • loudpublicist · March 9, 2015

      Aren’t all songs some form of poetry? Granted, most of them, these days, tend to be utterly rubbish, but they are still a version of poetry.

      Like

      • Manu · March 9, 2015

        As much as I like her, I’d never publish Taylor Swift as poetry. But I know what you mean, good music is almost always poetry. Who better to justify it than my latest obsession, Hozier!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

