How Many of These Bands/Artists Do You Know?

Those of you who already Follow Me on Twitter will probably know that I often post links to my favourite songs under #NowPlaying. Therefore, I thought I’d make this post about 6 of the bands/artists that have been a part of my playlist for the last couple of years; musicians who I feel aren’t appreciated enough. Although there is the factor that once they do gain that recognition and fame, I start to drift away (sometimes). Have you ever felt that way?

1. COASTS

Origin – England ; Genres – Alt Rock, Indie Pop

I’ve liked all their songs, be it A Rush Of Blood, Stay or their latest single Modern Love. Yet my favourite song from the very beginning has been Oceans.

2. PRIDES

Origin – Glasgow, Scotland ; Genres – Synthpop

These guys have been on my #MostPlayed list for quite some time now. The first time I heard them, I knew that these guys were special. At the time they had yet to reach the 1k mark on Twitter. And now, look how far they’ve come. Although I love Out Of The BlueI Should Know You BetterThe Seeds You Sow and their latest Higher LoveMessiah remains my all-time-favourite, thus far. The music video is pretty amazing.

FACT – The actors in this video are also the music video directors.

3. JAYMES YOUNG

Origin – USA ; Genres – Alternative, Indie, R&B & Pop

I love it all! Hard not to. Look up MoondustI’ll Be GoodWhat Should I Do, Come Back For Me and Habits Of My Heart.

4. DATA ROMANCE

Origin – Vancouver, Canada ; Genres – Indie & Electronic

This duo’s music has somehow always intrigued me. It bugs me that their follower count on Twitter isn’t as high as I’d like. The Deep is my favourite.

This always reminds me of the scene from Shakespeare’s Macbeth, with the three witches around their cauldron. 

5. RHODES

Origin – UK ; Genre – Folk

This singer-songwriter’s songs are a must listen. Check out Breathe, Turning Back Around and my favourite Your Soul.

6. BRICK + MORTAR

Origin – New Jersey, USA ; Genres – Indie Rock & D&B

These guys are so sick. You’ve just got to have a listen for yourself. While you’re at it, check out BangsTerrible ThingsNo I Won’t Go and Locked In A Cage.

So what did you think? Had you heard of these guys before today? Let me know in the Comments section below. I love a good musical talent based discussion.

– Featured Image Courtesy

3 comments

  1. ascensions · March 24, 2015

    Hmm… well I’ve heard of at least three of these. Then again, I have this friend, she’s quite lovely, and has very similar tastes to you. I should introduce you two sometime. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Manu · March 24, 2015

    I think you introduced me to PRIDES. Did I ever say thank you? This deserves a Thank You.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

